Skip to Content

All of Ash’s Pokemon in the Anime

Ash is the protagonist of the Pokemon anime. How many Pokemon does he manage to collect? Here’s all of Ash’s Pokemon in the Anime!

Ash has had 98 species of Pokémon throughout the series, out of which 83 are officially listed, including the 30 Tauros.

He owns 77 Pokemon and 1 Rotom Phone that travels with him.

He has had at least one Pokemon from all 18 types in these 25 years. They also include those he owned, caught, traveled with, or traded.

Ash traded 2 Pokemon, owned four temporarily, gave away one, and toured with 4 Pokemon in the Anime.

All of Ash’s Pokémon in the Anime

All of Ash’s Pokemon in the Anime

PikachuKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
ButterfreeKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
CharizardKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
BulbasaurKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
PidgeotKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
SquirtleKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
KinglerKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
SnorlaxKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
PrimeapeKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
LaprasKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
MukKanto/Indigo League and Orange League
Tauros (x30)Kanto/Indigo League and Orange League
HeracrossJohto Leauge
BayleefJohto Leauge
TotodileJohto Leauge
QuilavaJohto Leauge
NoctowlJohto Leauge
DonphanJohto Leauge
SwellowHoenn League/Battle Frontier
SceptileHoenn League/Battle Frontier
CorphishHoenn League/Battle Frontier
TorkoalHoenn League/Battle Frontier
GlalieHoenn League/Battle Frontier
StaraptorSinnoh League
GibleSinnoh League
GlisscorSinnoh League
TorterraSinnoh League
InfernapeSinnoh League
BuizelSinnoh League
UnfezantUnova League
OshawottUnova League
LeavannyUnova League
PigniteUnova League
ScraggyUnova League
PalpitoadUnova League
SnivyUnova League
BoldoreUnova League
KrookodileUnova League
GreninjaKalos League
TalonflameKalos League
NoivernKalos League
HawluchaKalos League
GoodraKalos League
RowlettAlola League
MelmetalAlola League
LycanrocAlola League
IncineroarAlola League
NaganadelAlola League
DragoniteGalar League
LucarioGalar League
GengarGalar League
DracovishGalar League
StretchedGalar League
Miley/Mr. MimeGalar League

Total Number of Pokemon in Each League/ Region

Kanto/Indigo League and Orange League

Ash had Pikachu, Pidgeot, Butterfree, Charizard, Bulbasaur, and Squirtle in the Kanto region. In contrast, his Orange Island team consisted of Charizard, Bulbasaur, Pikachu, Squirtle, Snorlax, and Lapras.

Johto League

Ash’s team in the Johto region comprised Bayleef, Noctowl, Cyndaquil, Pikachu, Totodile, and Phanpy.

Hoenn League/Battle Frontier

The third league was the Hoenn League. The Pokemon in Ash’s team in the Hoenn league consisted of Grovyle, Pikachu, Torkoal, Swellow, and Corphish. Alternatively, Sceptile, Pikachu, Donphan, Swellow, Corphish, and Aipom were part of his team in the Battle Frontier. Though, Ash traded Aipom to Dawn later.

Sinnoh League

Pikachu, Torterra, Staraptor, Infernape, Gliscor, Gible, and Buizel were with Ash in the Sinnoh region. Aipom was also a part of the Sinnoh League team before being traded for Buizel.

Unova League

Ash had more Pokemon in his team in the Unova region compared to the previous ones. The team in the Unova league consisted of Pignite, Charizard, Boldore, Unfezant, Scraggy, Oshawott, Leavanny, Snivy, Palpitoad, and Krookodile.

Kalos League

Ash’s team in the Kalos region consisted of Hawlucha, Pikachu, Talonflame, Greninja, and Noibat, who evolved later.

Alola League

Alola League’s Ash’s team constituted Pikachu, Incineroar, Lycanroc, Rowlet, Melmetal, and Nagandael.

Galar League

Pikachu, Lucario, Mimey, Dracovish, Sirfetch’d, Gengar, and Dragonite are part of his current team in the Galar region.

Does Ash Catch All Pokemon?

Pokémon debuted on April 1, 1997, with the episode “Pokemon — I Choose You!,” when Ash set out on a journey through different regions to “catch ‘em all.”

Ash got his first Pokemon, “Pikachu,” from Professor Oak. As and Pikachu become friends soon, he moves on the journey to becoming a Pokemon master with Pikachu.

While Ash does not really “catch ‘em all” in his 25-year-long journey, he has had at least one Pokemon of each of the 18 types. He also caught 30 Tauros in the Safari Zone in a banned episode called “EP035.” However, this episode was not aired due to the use of handguns.

Ash has had 98 species of Pokemon throughout the series at some point.


What were Ash’s original 6 Pokemon?

Ash initially has six original Pokemon, including Pikachu, Charizard, Bulbasaur, Butterfree, Squirtle, and Pidgeotto.

What are the names of Ash’s Pokemon?

The most famous Pokemon that belong to Ash in the Anime series are Pikachu Kingler, Bulbasaur, Glalie, Goodra, Swellow, Gliscor, Heracross, etc.

Who is Ash’s strongest Pokemon?

Ash’s strongest Pokemon is Greninja because of its unbeatable combination of strength and speed. 

The Bottom Line

Ash has had around 83 Pokemon in the series. He also released some into the wild, traded some, game one away, and traveled with four. He also had 30 Tauros obtained from the Safari zone. Other Ash Pokémon in the Anime include Pikachu, Pignite, Charizard, Bulbasaur, Grovyle, Bayleef, Noctowl, Cyndaquil, Swellow, Corphis, etc.

If you’re looking for gaming content, we also have game codes for free in-game content, tier lists for heroes and weapons, and general gaming guides.

Check out Poké for the official website.